FPOS Blended Course Launched - BTEC Level 4 Certificate for First Person on Scene (QCF)

The new BTEC Level 4 Certificate for First Person on Scene (QCF) is the latest qualification launched in 2017 by Pearson and is now available as blended or classroom training.  This qualification has been extended and as a result the length of the course has increased to 98 guided learning hours (GLH) and 184 hours of total qualification time (TQT).

ProTrainings have been working closely with experienced medical professionals to create online training that enables the training to be completed as a blended qualification, where theoretical aspects of the course can be completed online, reducing the number of days required in the classroom.

The new FPOS qualification lends itself to blended training very easily.  You can start your FPOS training by watching a series of videos,  completing the knowledge review questions to test your understanding and taking a short online test. You will also compete an open response question book which is taken to your practical lesson to confirm your understanding and save time in the classroom.

You can choose to complete the first unit 100% online or you can choose to do the full units 1 – 4 as online/blended training. The blended qualification will save you valuable time in the classroom now that the course is a lot longer.

The First Person on Scene FPOS course is designed for those involved in providing initial emergency care for example Community Responders, Fire and Police Officers, personnel involved in the security industry, senior cabin crew and industrial first aiders. Taking the first aider onto the next level, topics in this course include pre-hospital assessment, respiration and airway management, circulation and shock and trauma related injuries, medical emergencies, cannulation, fluid therapy, spinal immobilisation.

Delivered by experienced medical professionals with front line experience this qualification is endorsed by the Faculty of Pre-Hospital Care (Edinburgh) and is certified through Edexcel. Level 4 First Person on Scene (FPOS) is fully recognised by the Security Industry Authority. The qualifications and any additional Units are valid for a period of 3 years. Periodic re-training and assessment for both the practical skills and supporting knowledge will therefore be required.

The new FPOS course is available as a standard qualification in addition to the Extended qualification mentioned above, the standard qualification covers fewer subjects and is a Level 3 qualification. There are no pre-requisites for this course, however first aid knowledge is recommended.   This online course is also an ideal standalone video online course to improve your first aid knowledge and understanding.

The content of this and all our courses has been independently certified as conforming to universally accepted Continuous Professional Development (CPD) guidelines and come with a Certified CPD Statement as well as a ProTrainings Certificate and for online courses an Evidence Based Learning statement

The old FPOS Basic, Intermediate and Enhanced are no longer available as qualifications.  If you have one of these certificates already, it will remain valid until the date it expires.

For more information please visit www.profpos.co.uk or call Damien on 01206 805359 or email damien@protrainings.eu

Leave a comment

How can we help you?

If you require health and safety training for your job, then you're in the right place. We've certified hundreds of thousands of people around the world using our video-based online and blended courses, and you can join them.

Learn more about our online health and safety courses.

Read more articles

Previous article: ITG Instructor Training - the first centre in the UK to gain direct Claim Status
Next article: Major incident trauma course – Learn online how to save lives

Read More Articles from Blended BTEC Level 4 Extended Certificate for First Person on Scene (RQF) Blended Part One - FPOS


Recent Articles